Programme

The programme for #SocMedHE18 is below. Full details by session number can be found on the page  ‘session information’. Follow the conversation on twitter  #SocMedHE18

If you prefer a printed version – here is a link to a PDF version of the socmedhe18 programme 

*this page is best viewed in chrome*
9.30 – 10.00 Registration: Conference signage will lead you to room 004 in the Teaching and Learning building
10.00 – 10.15 Welcome: Rachel Challen, Principal Lecturer, School of Arts and Humanities, Nottingham Trent University @RKChallen

Framing the day: Sue Beckingham, Principal Lecturer, Sheffield Hallam University @suebecks

10.15 – 11.15 Keynote: “Community, equality, openness – a keynote in three hashtags “

Dr Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive Officer, Association for Learning Technology @marendeepwell @A_L_T

Parallel 1

11.15 – 12.30

1.02: Running a course Twitter account

Jenny Lewin-Jones (@JennyLewinJones)

Parallel 1

11.15 – 12.30

1.03: 7 years for 12 hours: setting up a twitter conference

Natalie Lafferty (@Nlafferty) and Pat Lockley (@pgogy, @pressedconf)

Parallel 1

11.15 – 12.30

1.04: From a tweet to a book: Social Media in Higher Education

Chris Rowell (@chri5rowell)

Parallel 2

11.15 – 12.30

1.05: The Effective use of Social Media to Enhance Personalised Learning and Build Excellent Relationships with Students within Higher Education

Dawne Irving-Bell (@belld17) and Sarah Wright (@sarah_wright1)

Parallel 2

11.15 – 12.30

1.06: Empowering young professionals in the age of social media

Colin Mitchell (@ColinJMitchell)

Parallel 2

11.15 – 12.30

1.07: Connecting Learning

Dr John Couperthwaite (@johncoup)

Parallel 3

11.15 – 12.30

1.08: Student resistance to social media in learning: myths and misconceptions!

Alastair Boot (@alastairboot)

Parallel 3

11.15 – 12.30

1.09: Is anyone listening? An investigation of student engagement with course-related social media content

Claire Timmins (@clairemtimmins)

Parallel 3

11.15 – 12.30

 

1.10: A Taxomomy of Personas

Sarah Honeychurch (@nomadwarmachine). Virtual presenters: Lenandlar Singh (@lenandlar), Aras Bozkurt (@arasbozkurt), Apostolos Koutropoulos (@koutropoulos)

Parallel 4

11.15 – 12.30

1.11: Exploring the benefits and barriers to using social media in higher education using Lego® Serious Play®. (60 minute workshop)

Suzanne Faulkner (@SFaulknerPandO)

12.30 – 13.30 Lunch: With added Snap and Chat led by Suzanne Faulkner (@SFaulknerPandO) 😊
Parallel 5

13.30 – 14.30

2.12: Enabling Open: A potted history of interoperability standards

Niall Barr (@niall_barr)

Parallel 5

13.30 – 14.30

2.13: Exploring the impact of institutional policies on the use of social media in UK HE teaching (5 minute presentation)

Paul Fenn (@PaulFenn16) and Paul Reilly (@PaulJReilly)

Parallel 5

13.30 – 14.30

2.14: Exploring the use of the online Action Learning Sets to connect off-site doctoral students: The virtual research community case study (5 minute presentation)

Hala Mansour (@halamansour)

Parallel 5

13.30 – 14.30

2.15: We have the technology! (30 minute session – presenting concurrently with #FT30uk)

Teresa Mackinnon (@WarwickLanguage)

Parallel 6

13.30 – 14.30

2.16: Let them loose!

Dawne Irving-Bell (@belld17) and (Sarah Wright (@sarah_wright1)

Parallel 6

13.30 – 14.30

2.17: Trust Yourselfie

James Walker (@MemoryTheatre @TheSpaceLathe)

Parallel 6

13.30 – 14.30

2.18: Empowering student engagement in social media to develop their learning and professional interests- perspectives from Occupational Therapy

Kerry Edwards (@kerrysorby) and Tom Groombridge – student presenter (@TomG_OT)

Parallel 7

13.30 – 14.30

2.19: Being part of the conversation: Why analysing Twitter hashtag communities is useful and how to do it (60 minute workshop)

Scott Turner (@scottturneruon), Sarah Honeychurch (@NomadWarMachine), and Martin Hawksey (@mhawksey)

14.30 – 14.45 Refreshments: Top up your mug!
Parallel 8

14.45 – 15.45

3.20: Exploring student-led use of social networking tools to support collaborative learning in undergraduate education: defining the research questions we need to understand the phenomenon

Alison Hartley (@AlisonSHartley)

Parallel 8

14.45 – 15.45

3.21: Politics, emotions and intimacy: exploring the possibilities of social media to engage, connect with and motivate distance-learning students on a health and social care module

Sharon Mallon (@sharonmallonphd), Beccy Dresden (@dresdeb)

Parallel 8

14.45 – 15.45

3.22: Social media and eprofessionalism: defining and supporting an appropriate digital identity

Aly Brown (@alyjbrown)

Parallel 9

14.45 – 15.45

3.23: Using Twitter to develop our profiles as academics, to create genuine communities of practice and meaningful connections with the wider world

Dawne Irving-Bell (@belld17), Sarah Wright (@sarah_wright1), David Wooff (@DesTech2013) and Claire Moscrop (@tigmoscrop)

Parallel 9

14.45 – 15.45

3.24: ‘MAKING the Difference’ to the modern Design and Technology curriculum.

Kerry Truman, NTU Maker Club (@kerry_truman)

Parallel 9

14.45 – 15.45

3.25: “Doing” & “Being”- HEA Fellowship as a Community

Dr Kate Cuthbert (@cuthbert_kate @NtuTILT)

Parallel 10

14.45 – 15.45

3.26: Lurkers: The Game Show (60 minute session)

Sarah Honeychurch (@nomadwarmachine), Andrew Middleton (@andrewmid), Rachelle O’Brien (@rachelleobrien), Sue Beckingham (@suebecks), Neil Withnell (@neilwithnell), Scott Turner (@scottturneruon)

Parallel 11

14.45 – 15.45

3.27: A metasummer night’s dream (60 minute session)

Pat Lockley (@pgogy) and Natalie Lafferty (@nlafferty)

15.45 Plenary: Rounding up the day Simon Horrocks (@horrocks_simon) and Sheila MacNeill (@sheilmcn)

Big reveal – #SocMedHE19: Rachel Challen (@RKChallen) and a special guest 😊

Thank you and goodbye from the organising committee – See you at #SocMedHe19

 

Deb Baff, Swansea University (@debbaff)

Sue Beckingham, Sheffield Hallam University (@suebecks)

Rachel Challen, Nottingham Trent University (@RKChallen)

Suzanne Faulkner, University of Strathclyde (@SFaulknerPandO)

Sarah Honeychurch, University of Glasgow (@nomadwarmachine)

Simon Horrocks, University of Edinburgh (@horrocks_simon)

Sheila MacNeil, Glasgow Caledonian University (@sheilmcn)

Andrew Middleton, Sheffield Hallam University (@andrewmid),

Alex SpiersLiverpool Institute of Performing Arts (@alexgspiers)

Scott Turner, University of Northampton (@scottturneruon)

Neil Withnell. University of Salford (@neilwithnell)

 

Advertisements